The Watchman

  • $500.00
    Unit price per 

Author: Grubb, Davis (1919-1980) inscribed from the library of literary agent Hal Matson

Year: 1961

Publisher: Charles Scribner's Sons

Place: New York


275 pages. Octavo (8 1/2" x 5 3/4") issued in blue with gilt lettering to spine and cover. Jacket design by Marilyn Miller. Inscribed to Hal [Matson] "With gratitude and fondness everlasting for his many years of kindness, faith and extravagant generosity. Love always, Dave" with a pictorial drawing below signature. 1st edition.

Harold Matson, a literary agent who represented Evelyn Waugh, C. S. Forester, Arthur Koestler, Malcolm Lowry and William Saroyan was also Davis Grubb's agent.

Davis Grubb was an American novelist and short story writer.Born in Moundsville, West Virginia, Grubb wanted to combine his creative skills as a painter with writing and as such attended the Carnegie Institute of Technology in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. However, his color blindness was a handicap he could not overcome and as such gave up on painting to dedicate himself to writing fiction. He did however do a number of drawings and sketches during the course of his career, some of which were incorporated into his writings.In 1940, Grubb moved to New York City where he worked at NBC radio as a writer while using his free time to write short stories. In the mid 1940s he was successful in selling several short stories to major magazines and in the early 1950s he starting writing a full length novel. Influenced by accounts of economic hardship by depression-era Americans that his mother had seen first hand as a social worker, Grubb produced a dark tale that mixed the plight of poor children and adults with that of the evil inflicted by others.His first novel, The Night of the Hunter, became an instant bestseller and was voted a finalist for the 1955 National Book Award. That same year, the book was made into a motion picture that is now regarded as a classic. Deemed "culturally significant" by the Library of Congress, the film was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry. Davis Grubb went on to write a further nine novels and several collections of short stories. His 1969 novel Fools' Parade would also be made into a motion picture starring James Stewart. Some of Grubb's short stories were adapted for television by Alfred Hitchcock and by Rod Serling for his Night Gallery series.Grubb died in New York City in 1980. His novel Ancient Lights was published posthumously in 1982, and St. Martins Press published eighteen of his short stories in a book collection titled You Never Believe Me and Other Stories.


Small spots of paper adhering to cover, slight fraying to spine head, some staining to heal page edges, signed on front end paper. Jacket light wear to spine ends and corners, small closed tear to back top edge, darkening to spine else about very good in a very good jacket.

SOLD 2013

We Also Recommend