Carson of Venus

  • $675.00
    Unit price per 

Author: Edgar Rice Burroughs (1875-1950)

Year: 1939

Publisher: Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc.

Place: Tarzana


312+[1 ad] pages with frontispiece and 5 and white plates by John Coleman Burroughs.  Small octavo (7 3/4" x 5 1/4") bound in original publisher's royal blue pebbled cloth lettered in red, red top edge, illustrated endpapers of map of Amtor; original unclipped pictorial dust jacket. (Currey p. 87; Heins CV–1 (V3); Zeuschner 70) First edition. 

This is third novel in the Venus series. 

The Amtor or Venus Series is a science fantasy series consisting of four novels and one novelette written by American author Edgar Rice Burroughs. Most of the stories were first serialized in Argosy, an American pulp magazine. It is sometimes known as the Carson Napier of Venus Series, after its main character, Carson Napier. Napier attempted a solo voyage to Mars, but, because of mistaken navigational calculations, he finds himself heading toward the planet Venus instead. The novels, part of the Sword and Planet subgenre of science fiction, follow earthman Napier's fantastic adventures after he crash-lands on Venus, called Amtor by its human-like inhabitants. Unlike Barsoom, the desert planet of Mars, these stories are set upon a waterworld like Earth. Most of the events of the series take place on the island of Vepaja, the kingdom of Korva on the island of Anlap, and the city-states of Havatoo and Kormor on the tropical continent north of Vepaja.

As is common in Burroughs' works, the hero is bold and daring, and quickly wins the heart of the Vepajan princess (or janjong) Duare, though class prejudices long inhibit her from expressing her love. Napier meets many varied peoples, including the Vepajans, refugees from an overthrown empire; the Thorists, thinly disguised communists who ran the Vepajans out of what is now the Thoran empire; pirates; the super-scientific eugenicists of Havatoo; the zombies of Kormor; the fascistic Zanis of Korva; and the hideous Cloud People.

In the course of his adventures within the series, Napier becomes a pirate (twice), escapes from the dread Room of the Seven Doors, and is finally made a prince, or tanjong, of Korva after the overthrow of the Zanis. Napier also rescues princesses from incomparable dangers innumerable times.

Near fine in like jacket.

We Also Recommend