The Case of the Troubled Trustee

  • $52.50
    Unit price per 


Author: Gardner, Erle Stanley (1889-1970)

Year: 1965

Publisher: William Morrow & Co

Place: New York

Description:

254 pages. Small octavo (7 3/4" x 5 1/2") issued in red with black lettering to spine and cover. 1st edition.

Erle Stanley Gardner was an American lawyer and author of detective stories who also published under the pseudonyms A.A. Fair, Kyle Corning, Charles M. Green, Carleton Kendrake, Charles J. Kenny, Les Tillray, and Robert Parr. Innovative and restless in his nature, he was bored by the routine of legal practice, the only part of which he enjoyed was trial work and the development of trial strategy. In his spare time, he began to write for pulp magazines, which also fostered the early careers of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler. He created many different series characters for the pulps, including the ingenious Lester Leith, a "gentleman thief" in the tradition of Raffles, and Ken Corning, a crusading lawyer who was the archetype of his most successful creation, the fictional lawyer and crime-solver Perry Mason, about whom he wrote more than eighty novels. With the success of Perry Mason, he gradually reduced his contributions to the pulp magazines, eventually withdrawing from the medium entirely, except for non-fiction articles on travel, Western history, and forensic science.

Condition:

Corners gently bumped. Jacket corners and spine ends chipped, small closed tears at spine head, front fold over edge rubbed, some closed edge tears else a better than very good copy in like jacket.

SOLD

We Also Recommend